Annual Meeting Student Scholarship Program

The ETS Executive Committee is pleased to announce the 2017 Annual Meeting Student Scholarship Program. This program is designed to help academically promising students who find participation in the Society economically prohibitive, or who come from a traditionally underrepresented group to get to know the Society, its functions, its leaders, and the role it plays in supporting conservative evangelical scholarship. The goal of the program is to encourage and support students, who might otherwise not participate in the Society, to appreciate the value of membership and the profitable part that it might play in their academic and ministry futures.

Scholarship recipients will receive a two-year benefit package including:

    Year One (2017)
  • Free Annual Meeting registration
  • Free Annual Meeting Banquet ticket
  • $300 cash award for travel expenses and meals
  • Free hotel accommodations at the annual meeting (four nights)
  • Luncheon with the Executive Committee and invited guests
  • 1 year free ETS membership
  • Book vouchers and publications from scholarship sponsors

    Year Two (2018)
  • Free Regional Meeting registration
  • Free Regional Meeting Banquet ticket (if applicable)
  • $150 cash award for regional meeting travel expenses and meals
  • 1 year free ETS membership
  • Free Annual Meeting registration
  • Free Annual Meeting banquet ticket

To be eligible for consideration, a student must meet the following criteria:

  • The program is open to current M.Div., M.A., M.Phil, S.T.M, Th.M., or Ph.D. students working in biblical studies, theology or a related field.
  • The applicant should have either an economic need which renders them unable to participate in the Society or should be part of an underrepresented group within the Society. While not limited exclusively to these groups, the Society membership has traditionally been underrepresented in terms of female, African-American, and Hispanic populations.
  • The Society’s purpose is to foster conservative biblical scholarship. Applicants should be able to demonstrate academic promise which indicates likely ability to participate as an active member of the Society.
  • Applicants should currently reside (school residence) within a day's drive of this year's annual meeting venue, Providence, RI. (8-10 hour drive time or less.)
  • Applicants must not be related to any member of the Executive Committee or the Scholarship Program Selection Committee. Currently this includes: Gregg Allison, Robert Yarbrough, Scott Rae, Tom Schreiner, Dan Wallace, Sam Storms, David Dockery, Michael Kruger and Michael Thigpen.